Chancel Choir

All are welcome to join the Chancel Choir! The Choir sings almost every Sunday, September through June serving as the primary vocal music leadership for our Traditions worship services, 10:45 a.m. Chancel Choir is a welcoming community of adult singers who have the desire, interest and time for learning, rehearsing and singing everything from the simple and beautiful, to more challenging pieces of choral literature. As one choir member put it, we “sing everything from Palestrina to Rutter.”

Chancel Choir rehearses most Wednesdays 7:15 – 9:15 p.m., and gathers to prepare for Sunday worship with warm up rehearsal and prayer at 9:30 a.m.

In addition to motets, anthems, spirituals and hymns prepared for worship, the Chancel Choir regularly prepares and performs large scale choral-orchestral works with the Wayzata Symphony Orchestra, sometimes for presentation in worship, sometimes in concert. Recent collaborations include Rutter and Mozart Requiems, and Bach St. John Passion. Our collaboration and partnership with WCC orchestra-in-residence is an amazing, wonderful and unique opportunity for Chancel Choir members.

Thomas Paulson, Director
Kraig Windschitl, Accompanist
To join or more information or 952-473-8877

Here are some performances by the Chancel Choir:

In The Beginning – Rosephanye Powell

Witness – Damon Dandridge

Wana Baracka – arr. Shawn Kirchner

CHANCEL CHOIR is a welcoming community of adult singers who have the desire, interest and time to learn, rehearse and sing a broad variety of sacred repertoire. A one choir member put it, “We sing everything from Palestrina to Rutter.”

Volunteer members are the heart and soul of the choir. Their musical leadership enables the congregation to grow in their faith through God’s gift of music. As they share their musical gifts with the congregation they give back to God for God’s many blessings. Before joining volunteer singers meet with the director so that he can get to know them individually. In this way he can better lead the choir.

Section leaders are auditioned each August for a 10 month contract. Positions require excellent sight-reading skills and musicianship, and a servant-leadership spirit. In addition to leading their section, they regularly solo including collaborations with Wayzata Symphony, and sing as an ensemble.

Wayzata Community Church

Sunday Worship at 10:45 unless noted
Wednesday Rehearsals 7:15-8:45 Full Choir, 8:45-915 ensemble
Wednesday Aug 31 First Rehearsal

SEPTEMBER Wednesday Rehearsals 7, 14, 21, 28

Sunday Sept. 11 Tri-faith Service of Remembrance & Hope (10:45), w/Artaria, Bagpipe
Sunday September 18 Music Sunday with Wayzata Symphony Orchestra
Sunday September 25 Confirmation Sunday

OCTOBER Wednesday Rehearsals 5, 12, 19, 26

Sunday October 2 World Wide Communion, combined w/Celeb Singers, 9:00 & 10:45
Sunday October 9
Sunday October 16 Clint Clark, Guest Pianist
Wednesday Oct. 19 WOW Service Full Chancel, 530 call, 625 worship, (short rehearsal)
Sunday October 23
Sunday Oct. 30 Stewardship, Ashleigh Kreider & Dr. Karen Leigh-Post, Guest Soloists

NOVEMBER Wednesday Rehearsals 2, (9 off), 16, (23 off), 30

Sunday Nov. 6 All Saints (Lessons & Carols format: Saints & Music), New Members
Sunday November 13 IOCP Sleep Out, Sunday Off
Sunday November 20 4th grade Bible, Thanksgiving
Sunday November 27 Advent 1
Wednesday November 30 WOW Service, ensemble 530 call, 625 worship

DECEMBER Wednesday Rehearsals 7, 14, 21, (28 off), Thurs Dec. 22 7-9 p.m. w/orchestra

Sunday December 4 Advent 2
Sunday December 11 Advent 3 Music Sunday, Geoff Seen, Trumpet
Sunday December 18 Advent 4
Saturday December 24 Christmas Eve 9:00 p.m. full choir, 11:00 p.m. ensemble

JANUARY Wednesday Rehearsals 4, 11, 18, 25

Sunday January 1, Sunday Off
Sunday January 8, Sunday After, Sunday Off
Sunday January 15, MLK, Choir Commissioning
Sunday January 22
Sunday January 29

FEBRUARY Wednesday Rehearsals (1 off Soul rehearsal), 8, 15, 22

Sunday February 5
Sunday February 12
Sunday February 19
Sunday February 26

MARCH Wednesday Rehearsals, 1, 8, 15, (22 off), 29

Vaughan Williams Dona Nobis Pacem Rehearsals Th Mar. 16 7-9:30; Sat Mar. 18 2:30-5:00
Sunday March 5 Lent 1, Communion
Sunday March 12, Lent 2
Sunday March 19, Lent 3 – VW concert with WSO 3:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m. call
Sunday March 26, Lent 4

APRIL Wednesday Rehearsals 5, 12, (19 off), 26

Sunday April 2 Lent 5
Sunday April 9 Palm
Thursday April 13 Maundy, 6:00 p.m. call, 7:00 p.m. worship
Sunday April 16 Easter
Sunday April 23 Sunday After, Sunday Off, Minnesota Boy Choir
Sunday April 30

MAY Wednesday Rehearsals 3, 10, 17

Sunday May 7
Sunday May 14
Sunday May 21
Sunday May 28

JUNE Rehearsals

Sunday June 4
Sunday June 11



Print Friendly